FINRA has investor education materials such as BrokerCheck, which provides insight into firms and financial advisors.

Blog

Friday, November 18, 2022

Because healthcare can become a considerable expense after age 65, you should carefully consider different methods of managing those expenses.

 

Tuesday, November 8, 2022

Because you will likely be living on a fixed income in retirement, you want to minimize the impact of any “surprises” at this time of life. For some retirees, income taxes can come as a major shock. Yes, income taxes are...

 

Tuesday, November 8, 2022

How much should you save for retirement from each paycheck? That’s one of the most common questions in the financial planning world. We generally recommend that our clients save as much as possible, for several very important...

 

Wednesday, October 19, 2022

If you’re due to retire soon, it would be understandable if you’re feeling a bit nervous about the uncertain state of the economy.

 

Friday, October 14, 2022

If you’re concerned about the impact of a COLA on taxes or your retirement budget in general, do get in touch with us to discuss your options.

 

Show All

Friday, October 7, 2022

Once you enter retirement, your out-of-pocket spending on healthcare is likely to increase. But you do have some options to keep costs down.

 

Monday, September 19, 2022

Normally, we focus on retirement goals when putting together a plan. Once we help our clients identify their objectives, we create a strategy for a retirement income that hopefully provides for their future lifestyle. But we...

 

Thursday, September 15, 2022

Many of us tend to view age 65 as a target retirement age. That’s when you become eligible for Medicare, but it’s early enough that you hopefully still have many healthy years ahead of you. But some of us are ready to...

 

Thursday, September 8, 2022

Most of us feel a bit of anxiety as we approach our target retirement date. You want to be sure that you’ve planned for everything, but as you know, some things in life cannot be planned. Instead, we can only plan how to handle...

 

Monday, August 22, 2022

Because adequate advance planning can help you better strategize your tax return, you should think about it before the end of the year.

 

Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Life will always throw us little surprises. But if you anticipate some of the possibilities, you can at least accommodate the possibility within your plans. 

 

Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Because individual states do impose their own tax code, choosing a location can be critical in the retirement years. That’s why so many retirees choose to relocate after their working years have ended. 

 

Friday, August 12, 2022

Here are 5 components to help you create sustainable & achievable goals.

 

Friday, August 12, 2022

A core element to financial health is to spend less than you make. It is simple until you put it into action. Here are 3 qualifiers to measure your budget by.

 

Friday, July 22, 2022

Are you wondering what’s so confusing about Social Security? Here are nine of the most commonly surprising facts that many people don’t know.

 

Wednesday, July 13, 2022

When we talk about retirement planning, most of us tend to focus on saving money and setting up one or more reliable streams of income for the future. But there’s another important component of planning for your retirement: How...

 

Friday, June 17, 2022

With inflation rising rapidly, how will your retirement income and lifestyle be impacted?

 

Friday, June 17, 2022

You might feel tempted to utilize a somewhat controversial method of paying off debts as your target retirement date approaches… But should you?

 

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

Once you enter retirement, you will need to switch your strategy from saving to taking withdrawals. And while doing so, you must navigate complicated IRS rules.

 

Monday, May 23, 2022

 

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

 

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

Because life tends to bring so many surprises, there are never any guarantees when it comes to retirement savings and planning. But this quick check-up can help you decide if you’re on the right track. 

 

Wednesday, April 20, 2022

 

Wednesday, April 13, 2022

 

Wednesday, April 6, 2022

 

Wednesday, March 23, 2022

It is important to consider what happens to each of you if the other spouse passes away first. In most cases this is an unpredictable part of life.

 

Monday, March 21, 2022

At some point, you might feel that you’re ready to - or need to - claim your benefits. What if that decision turns out to feel like a mistake, and you regret it? Can you change your mind and delay your benefits until later?

 

Friday, March 11, 2022

 

Sunday, February 20, 2022

 

Monday, February 14, 2022

 

Monday, February 7, 2022

 

Sunday, January 30, 2022

 

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

 

Monday, January 10, 2022

 

Monday, December 20, 2021

 

Monday, December 13, 2021

 

Monday, December 6, 2021

 

Wednesday, November 24, 2021

Over the past year and half, we’ve all thought about contagious diseases and healthcare much more than we normally would. Living through a state of emergency can prompt us to rethink many of our plans, including our estate plans....

 

Tuesday, November 16, 2021

Have you set a target retirement date yet? Or, are you still evaluating your options? Either way, it is likely that you will continue to reevaluate your budget even after you retire! That’s because the costs of various goods and...

 

Wednesday, November 10, 2021

If there’s one thing that can change nearly every aspect of society, from broad trends down to individual lives, it’s a pandemic. As we’ve seen, the consequences of the Covid pandemic have affected us at every level....

 

Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Ask ten different people about their dreams for retirement, and you might get ten different answers. But one theme will pop up regularly: Many of us envision a debt-free life. And in particular, paying off the mortgage before...

 

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

As Einstein once said, “Information is not knowledge. The only source of knowledge is experience.” Experience, whether intentional scientific experiments or simply life lessons, is the best way to gain wisdom. But we can...

 

Wednesday, October 13, 2021

Washington lawmakers never fail to keep us entertained (or concerned, depending upon your perspective). But the latest news seems a bit confusing for many of you. What exactly is the debt ceiling, and why do they want to raise it...

 

Wednesday, September 29, 2021

After decades of working, planning, and saving, you’re finally beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel! But now, as you head into the final stretch of your career, you must avoid a few common mistakes. Make wise...

 

Thursday, September 23, 2021

Ideally, retirement planning begins early in your career and then continues for decades. You will make a number of decisions when you first open a retirement account, and then reevaluate those decisions throughout your career as you...

 

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Many Americans worry that they are under-prepared for retirement, citing insufficient savings and a rising cost of living. Even worse, according to the Federal Reserve one quarter of working adults have no retirement savings at all. In...

 

Friday, September 3, 2021

Are you planning to retire sometime within the next decade? Many of us have been planning for this moment for many years, and now we’re in the home stretch of our careers. We hope you’re feeling confident about your plans,...

 

Friday, August 27, 2021

No, it is not your imagination. The cost of many goods and services has risen over the past year, and some of those price hikes are significant. Most household budgets have been impacted, and the measures of inflation are indeed...